Tom Huang – Studio Projects


Fellowship at the Center for Furniture Craftsmanship
October 1, 2009, 1:38 pm
Filed under: Bamboo Canoe, Design, Furniture

Welcome to my Blog.  I have to thank Whit Bones for helping me overcome the inertia of learning something new.  As the name of the blog suggest, I hope to be posting about my on goings in the studio.  However, I’m going to be formally starting this blog from Rockland, Maine.  Yesterday, I arrived in Maine, settled into my apartment which I’m renting for the month and unloaded my car-full of materials and tools into my space at the Center  for Furniture Craftsmanship.  My first impressions of the CFC are that the students, faculty, and fellows are all warm, talented and willing to share.  The facilities are top notch!!!  I can’t wait to dive in and get to work.  As you can see from the images I’ve already posted, I’m in the process of building a bamboo canoe.  My plans for my time here will be to finish the canoe and develop ideas for some new pieces of furniture and sculpture that use some of what I’ve learned from the construction of the canoe.  As I learn the technology involved with blogging, I’ll be posting pictures and hopefully some video.  So please check in from time to time and join me on my (canoe) adventure.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Tom, I’ve just come home from 2 weeks at Penland (working quite happily in the flame work studio). I saw your amazing work there and also your slide presentation. I was so moved by your canoe and the poem that inspired it. I was unable to view the video on my computer. Would it be possible to email me a copy of the poem?? Such a big favor to ask. Thanks for the beauty you share with your work. Susie, a fellow Penland student

Comment by Susie Ward

Susie, if you’d like the words, please feel free to check the BambooCanoe.biz website. It has the translation of the poem. Thanks so much for your support.

Comment by tomahawkku




Leave a Reply

